Governing Board & Senior Leadership

The Bethany Group Governing Board sets the direction and vision of the organization. Its role is to provide leadership for the organization through a model of governance, which distinguishes its unique job from that of management. The Governing Board continually scans the spiritual, cultural, economic, and political environment in which The Bethany Group operates.

Members of the Governing Board consist of volunteers from in and around the community of Camrose.

The current Governing Board Members are:

  • Odell Olson, Chair 
  • Alan Ford
  • Marian Deborah Goodman
  • Lynda Haarstad Petten
  • Alice Lindstrand
  • Lynn Neufeld
  • Warren Phillips
  • Ina Nielson
  • Jack Ramsden
  • David Samm
  • Rev. Calvin Skriver
  • Cheryl Smith

 In 2012, The Board of Governors set new Vision, Mission, & Values for The Bethany Group:

Our vision is an enhanced quality of life for vulnerable people.

Our mission is to enhance the quality of life of the people we serve.

We believe that all people we serve deserve to be treated with dignity and respect in an atmosphere of holistic care, cooperation, and integrity working from a Christian foundation that reflects God’s love and caring.

The Bethany Lifestyle: We encourage a friendly and inviting culture where everyone is secure and their needs are respected.


Contact Information

Should you need to contact any member of the Governing Board, please direct your correspondence as follows:

The Bethany Group
4612 53 Street
Camrose AB T4V 1Y6
Attention: Administrative Assistant to the Board

or call 780-679-2023

Senior Leadership

Chief Executive Officer
Mike Leathwood, CEO, is the only employee of the Governing Board. The primary focus of the Office of the CEO is to lead the organization by maintaining positive relationships with clients, staff, Housing Management Body partners, municipal & provincial governments, and the public at large. This includes internal and external communications, public relations and community engagement activities

Director, Health Care Services
Carla Beck, is responsible for the operations of all Health Programs delivered by the Bethany Group. This includes Rosehaven Provincial Program, Long Term Care, Designated Assisted Living, Home Care and Crossroads Day Program

Director, Housing and Accommodations Services
Dave Buist, is responsible for the operations of all aspects of Housing and Accommodations within The Bethany Group. This includes Food Services, Housekeeping and Laundry, Property Maintenance, Capital Maintenance, New Property Development and the operations of the Bethany Group Life Lease, Affordable Housing and Deer Meadows facility.

Director, Corporate Services
Lorraine Kiel, is responsible for  Human Resources, Information Technology,  Financial Services and Payroll,  for the Bethany Group. This includes leading recruitment, retention, employee wellness programs, as well as responsibility staff scheduling, Occupational Health and Safety and  disability management.